Municipality of Bayham

Elgin County Shutdown in Response to COVID-19

Elgin County Municipalities

On December 21, 2020, the Province of Ontario announced further measures across the Province to slow the spread of COVID-19 including a Provincewide Shutdown to Stop Spread of COVID-19 and Save Lives

The Provincewide Shutdown restrictions start at 12:01 a.m. on Saturday, December 26th, 2020 and are anticipated to continue in our region until at least Saturday, January 23, 2021. 

Residents of Elgin County are strongly encouraged to stay home, except for essential travel, such as groceries and other necessities, like medicine; healthcare appointments; school; child care; and going to work.  By reducing the number of people who are out in the community, we reduce the potential exposures to COVID-19, which will help drive down case counts.

While the Municipal Office is staffed, there will be limited, controlled access to the premises during this time to minimize direct person-to-person contact, ensure flow management, contact tracing and business continuity. Details about Municipality of Bayham Services are available on the Municipal Website.

For additional information outlining how Municipalities across Elgin County are working together to plan for the temporary shutdown please view the Elgin County Media Release.